Petits Tresors logo

For 40 years, youth mental health and autism has been at the heart of the Fondation les petits trésors' mission. In addition to supporting research and mental health care at the Hôpital en santé mentale Rivière-des-Prairies, the foundation offers awareness-raising activities, and supports organizations that provide respite to families across Quebec.

We need to acknowledge that mental health distress is like a storm in the lives of our children and adolescents.

When the storm hits, it takes up all the space, leaving in its wake distraught young people and families who struggle to put the pieces back together again. Like a hurricane, bringing fear until it loses intensity, sometimes the stormy season can last all year round.

For the nearly 350,000 Quebec families affected, the difficulties they encounter on a daily basis represent enormous challenges, sometimes seeming insurmountable. In 1980, a few parents made the commitment to make a positive difference in the lives of their children and families. Today, the Fondation les petits trésors speaks and acts on behalf of these young people and their families, whose futures are threatened by a mental health issue or autism.

Source : Canadian Institute of Health

For mental health disorders in our children and adolescents, there are approximately

300 different diagnoses. 

Among the most common are depression, suicidal behaviour, anxiety, ADD (with or without H), borderline personality disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, bipolar disorder, psychotic disorder. Autism, even though it is not a disease, is treated in child psychiatry.

Disorders
& statistics

Between 2008 and 2019, visits to emergency departments for mental health reasons increased by 61%, and hospitalizations by 60%

In 2018-19, 1 in 11 young people received an antipsychotic or medication for an anxiety or mood disorder

One in 66 children will be diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD)

80% of young people with a mental health issue also experience sleep problems

25 % of young people suffer from anxiety disorders

10 % of children under 10 have had thoughts of suicide

Source : Canadian Institute of Health

Autism
is close to our hearts

Our partner organization, the Fondation de l'autisme's mission is to provide support and resources that improve the quality of life for people with autism and their families.

Petits Tresors logo

Depuis plus de 40 ans, la Fondation les petits trésors a fait de la santé mentale et de l’autisme chez les enfants, les adolescents, SA cause. En plus de soutenir la recherche et les soins en santé mentale à l’Hôpital en santé mentale Rivière-des-Prairies, la Fondation propose des activités de sensibilisation, et soutient également des organismes qui offrent du répit aux familles partout au Québec.    

Imaginons que les troubles de santé mentale ressemblent à des tempêtes dans la tête de nos enfants et adolescents.

Quand la tempête sévit, elle occupe tout l’espace, et elle laisse dans son sillage des jeunes et des familles bouleversées qui tentent tant bien que mal de recoller les morceaux. Nos petits trésors sont alors comme ces ouragans qui font craindre le pire jusqu’à ce qu’ils perdent en intensité, et la saison des tempêtes dure toute l’année.

Parlez-en aux quelques 350 mille familles québécoises touchées. Les difficultés qu’elles rencontrent au quotidien représentent de grands défis, qui semblent parfois insurmontables. Ce sont quelques-uns de ces parents qui en 1980, se sont engagés pour faire une différence positive dans leurs vies et dans celles de leurs enfants. La Fondation les petits trésors parle et agit aujourd’hui au nom de tous ces jeunes et de leurs familles qui voient leur avenir menacé par un trouble de santé mentale ou encore d’autisme.

Source : Organisation Mondiale de la santé

La santé mentale de nos enfants et adolescents, ça représente environ

300 diagnostics différents.

Parmi les plus fréquents on retrouve la dépression, les conduites suicidaires, l’anxiété, les TDA avec ou sans H, les troubles de personnalité limite, les troubles obsessifs compulsifs, les troubles bipolaires, les troubles psychotiques. L’autisme, même s’il ne s’agit pas d’une maladie, est traité en pédopsychiatrie. 

Des maux
& des chiffres

Entre 2008 et 2019 les visites pour des raisons de santé mentales aux urgences ont augmenté de 61 % et les hospitalisations de 60 %.

1 jeune sur 11 a reçu un antipsychotique ou un médicament pour un trouble anxieux ou de l’humeur en 2018-2019

1 enfant sur 66 obtiendra un diagnostic de trouble du spectre de l’autisme

80 % des jeunes qui ont un trouble de santé mentale éprouvent aussi des troubles du sommeil

25 % des jeunes souffrent de troubles anxieux

10 % des enfants de moins de 10 ans ont déjà eu des pensées suicidaires

Source : Institut Canadien de la santé

L’autisme
nous tient à cœur

Organisme partenaire, la Fondation de l’autisme a pour mission d’offrir du répit pour contribuer à la qualité de vie des personnes autistes et de leur famille.